Love boxes . . .

by msalexwitney

I spotted some pretty felt boxes in an Etsy store a while ago and it’s been one of those things that have stuck in my mind since.

What colours would I have used? Would I line them? How would I decorate them?

The more I pondered the more I wanted to make my own. So I did!

Image

I decided on LOVE because I was in a happy place when brainstorming. Thank god I was in a good mood that day otherwise f**k knows how they would have turned out šŸ˜‰

Image

It was sunny on making-day hence my selection of bright fabrics, I spent a fair bit of time going through my hoards of fabric looking for the best matches.

Image

Making the paper pattern was probably the most taxing part, but thanks to Ā£9,000 spent on university fees – I know how to draw a square.

Image

Using blanket stitch (my favourite kind of stitch) I attached the letters to the fronts of the felt boxes then did all the construction. A nice Sunday afternoon activity.

Image

This is where they are living now but I will get around to putting a screw into the wall and hanging my large mirror above the fireplace which will free up room to sit the boxes on the mantelpiece.

Image

My favourite is the ladybird print šŸ™‚

