I’m a vintage recycler and I’m not afraid to show it

by msalexwitney

Last Christmas I began a vintage fabric tote bag journey. Combining a love of vintage fabrics (from previously mentioned nan’s stash) and hand appliqué to make fun retro tote bags.

Image

Going through hoards of old duvet covers I came across this one, I figured the way the print was arranged to create a border would work well as the tote bag itself. To make it a bit sturdier I chose a contrasting lining which I think makes it stand out a little from other totes.

Image

Image

The appliquéd pieces I chose basically because I like them. No clever message or market research. I just like unicorns. On one I gave to a friend there was a penguin (forgot to take a photo). There may have been a David Attenborough penguin documentary on around that time. If you haven’t seen one of his program’s at the very least watch one of the penguin ones. Surprisingly funny.

Image

Between the embroidery and the appliqué these took forever to make. I’d love to make them to sell but to make it worth my while I’d have to price them a lot higher than they’d sell for.

Image

Working on more vintage fabric bags with much simpler designs. Think there’s going to be a bit of trial and error though to get to a place where I’m happy with the balance of my time and amount of embellishment I can work into it.

