Nature Embroidered

by msalexwitney

About a year ago I finished what is essentially my own version of an embroidery sampler. There was very little planning that went into it, I hadn’t hand sewn in years and pretty much woke up one morning with the urge to start sewing again. So after sifting through piles of my fabric I found some canvas.

I didn’t trim it or blanket stitch the edges to stop inevitable fraying, I just picked up a pencil, made a couple scribbles and started sewing. It’s probably the least thought out bit of work I’ve ever done and the most liberating. It took me a good few months to get to a point where I was happy to say ‘finished!’, and when I finally did it got rolled up and hidden away in a cupboard.

Image

Yesterday I decided it was time for my work to come out of hiding.

Image

Image

The lavender flowers are my favourite.

Image

Image

Image

Closely followed by the birds . . .

Image

Image

Image

It’s not a masterpiece but I think it deserves a little bit of limelight, so last night in a very makeshift way I pinned it to the wall above my bed.

Above bed

Keep up to date on BlogLovin

Find me on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

