Mishkin’s

by msalexwitney

Last night I visited Mishkin’s with my lovely friend LE, I’ve wanted to go for a while after seeing lots of positive reviews and yummy pics. It’s based on the typical wholesome and indulgent food of an American Jewish deli.

I arrived first and was settled at a table so commonly seen in London at the moment, recycled wooden school chairs and ‘saved’ wooden tables. It all added to the cool retro vibe, I was particularly jealous of one table that at a glance looked like it was hidden in an old wood and glass train carriage – would make for quite a romantic evening.

Image

This little beaut arrived at the table, was very tempted to slip it into my bag at the end of the night!

Image

LE ordered the Beef Corn Dogs with Green Ketchup and a Chopped Tarragon Salad. And chips obviously! (How cute is the doily on the plate!)

Image

As a massive burger fan it was inevitable that this was going to be my choice, but I did shake it up a little by opting for the Lamb and Minted Yoghurt. It did not disappoint! It came with an impressive two patties that were thick and juicy. They didn’t hold back on the minted yoghurt which coated the entire bottom patty and complimented the burger beautifully. And very importantly the bun supported everything perfectly, no mulsh, so soggy bread, just perfect bun and patty harmony.

Image

Zucchini, Feta and Pine Nut Salad – this was gorgeous.

Image

The salad I reckon would be quite easy to replicate at home, add some diced red onions and dress in lemon juice and olive oil. I’ll be giving it a go.

Image

Just look at that bad boy!

Image

On going to the toilets I was confronted with this rather odd looking yellow egg. Logic indicated that this was soap so I tried giving it a squeeze. Nothing happened. Had another look and a little rub and discovered that it was a big lump of soap! Strange lathering motions of the egg then took place. I did wonder afterwards how they replenished it. Does it get really skinny? That would be weird.

Image

I’d definitely recommend going here, a lovely little restaurant in Covent Garden with really good comfort food.

Oh and try the cheesecake!

 

Keep up to date on BlogLovin

Find me on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

